RSS Feed

The places you’ll go…

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn,the more places you’ll go.”

Dr. Seuss

I have always read a lot: more than the average person.  Apparently, as a child I didn’t play, but crawled (and later walked, I guess) taking books to grown ups to be read to.

But ever since I started this project, I find I am reading much, much more than before.  I have become one of those people who reads walking down the road, or grabs a sneaky ten minutes in a coffee shop before a meeting to read.  Yesterday I walked into a lamp post and missed my bus stop. I am like a bad slapstick comedy.

An extra seven minutes (once I’d got the coffee) of reading.

Five minutes on the bus – missed my stop.

This is partly because I am into the book, but also partly because of an obsession with being ahead of targets which permeates my whole life.  First child syndrome, I guess.

Currently I am 1.5 days ahead. Expect occasional updates on my ‘aheadness’.

About bloggingthelonglist

An avid reader, but I tend to stick to what I know I am comfortable with. Trying to break out of the comfort zone...

Leave a Reply

