RSS Feed

Neither fish nor fowl….

Being in the middle is famously problematic.  Middle child, squeezed middle, mid-week blues….

The middle of a project  often suffers a similar fate.  At the beginning you are all excited, motivated and raring to go.  By the end, finish line in sight, you get that last burst of adrenaline and press on.  But the middle is neither fish nor fowl.   If you have ever flagged in the middle of a run, or a long day at work, you will get the gist.

Right now I am pretty much slap bang in the middle of my project – half way through book six of twelve (and I started out with most of the longer books…) I am struggling a little, but far from giving in (hey, I am no quitter!)

I have thought a little about this and have decided my mid-project blues can be attributed to three issues:

  1. I don’t have any reading adventure buddies.  I am doing this alone.  So there is nobody out there, who I know is doing the same thing, to encourage me or compete with me, or mock me, or do whatever it takes to chivvy me along;
  2. Being ‘ahead of the curve’ in the middle is particularly problematic.  Because there is literally no onus to press on.  The beginning is far away, the end is not yet in sight and there is no time pressure keeping you going; and
  3. The Yips hasn’t made me laugh yet (and it is loooong).

I am persevering, but slowly.  I just wanted to let you know I hadn’t forgotten you.

About bloggingthelonglist

An avid reader, but I tend to stick to what I know I am comfortable with. Trying to break out of the comfort zone...

Leave a Reply

