RSS Feed

On time and place

You know how certain smells will always remind you of certain things?  There is a smell I catch, occasionally, which instantly takes me to my Grandma’s house.  And music can do the same.  Every relationship I have had has had a soundtrack and there are certain songs I can’t listen to without the memories flooding back.

My relationship with books is kind of like that in reverse.  For me to enjoy – no, more than enjoy, utterly immerse myself in – a book, I have to be in the right place, physically and emotionally.  Naval Gazing partially hit the spot because I was on my own, feeling introspective in cold, rainy Copenhagen.  I don’t think Fifty Shades of Grey would have been the same in my cosy flat in wintry England as it was in a stark hotel room in sunny Houston.  There are books I loved when I was younger – On the Road being the prime example – that I could never read again, for fear I could never love it as much.  Wrong time; wrong place; wrong Kate.

map

Since I finished Fifty Shades I have picked up and put down a few books.  Books that should have stuck in an American environment, like A Confederacy of Dunces.  And I am not sure what this says for my emotional state, but the one that has really hit home with me here, now, is Life of Pi.  I think when I travel (and particularly on planes themselves) I tend to become more philosophical and introspective.  And Life of Pi suits that mood perfectly.

I am only halfway through, but loving it.  And it is a book I would never have read of my own accord: I am not normally won over by either religion or animals (on paper – in real life is another story).  So this is absolutely what this project is all about.

As always, one of the reasons I really like this book is the quotes.  More to follow in the proper review, but to end, a strangely appropriate quote, for this wistful traveler:

“All living things contain a measure of madness that moves them in strange, sometimes inexplicable ways.  This madness can be saving; it is part and parcel of the ability to adapt.  Without it no species would survive.”

About bloggingthelonglist

An avid reader, but I tend to stick to what I know I am comfortable with. Trying to break out of the comfort zone...

Leave a Reply

