RSS Feed

Some thoughts on the Women’s Prize Shortlist

As those of you with eagle eyes will have seen, I am not quite keeping the reading pace necessary to complete the entire Women’s Prize longlist, before the winner is announced on 5 June.  I could provide you with a vast array of excuses, but when it comes down to it, there are simply more books this time, and slightly less time.

Luckily – for me – I have, however, nearly completed 4 out of the 6 novels on the shortlist, announced today.

Completed (green circle)

  • May we be Forgiven – A M Homes
  • Flight Behaviour – Barbara Kingsolver
  • Bring up the Bodies – Hilary Mantel

Nearly Completed (yellow circle)

  • Where’d you go, Bernadette? – Marie Semple (more on this to follow, tomorrow)

Yet to Read (red circle)

  • Life After Life – Kate Atkinson
  • NW – Zadie Smith

Women_fiction

And, to their credit, I think the Women’s Prize judges have done a sterling job (far better than that of their Man Booker colleagues).  All four are truly wonderful, and unique novels, and I would struggle to pick between them.  It makes sense to me that this prize was well-judged, because well, I have heard of, and respect the judges.

For the next week or two, I will focus my reading efforts on finishing the shortlist.  I hope numbers 5 and 6 are as remarkable.  They have a lot to live up to!  Luckily, they are by two of my favourite authors, so now I have doubly high hopes for them.

About bloggingthelonglist

An avid reader, but I tend to stick to what I know I am comfortable with. Trying to break out of the comfort zone...

Leave a Reply

