RSS Feed

Please Stand By, Normal Service Will Resume Shortly

As you may have noticed, I have taken a few months hiatus from blogging. I needed to stop for a while, because although the blogging in itself isn’t too tiring or time consuming, it changes the way that I read books. Normally, I read without thinking, powering through page after page. But when planning to blog about the book I am much more careful, stopping and thinking and annotating as I go. Sometimes this stops me vanishing into the story in quite the way I would like. And particularly for vacation reading, it was a hard habit to maintain.

But now I am back!

20130907-131106.jpg
Mostly, because I miss reading in a way which makes me think and blogging about all my random thoughts. But also because a few of you massaged my ego a little by telling me that you missed the blog. So here we go, it’s autumn, back to school time and a very appropriate time for me to get back into the swing of the blog.

As an aside, some of you have asked me whether I am reading this year’s Booker Long List, as this is what gave birth to the blog in the first place. The answer is, sort of. I am taking a more nuanced approach this year, and instead of powering through an extensive list of epic (and sometimes hideous) books as quickly as possible, I am reading the ones that interest me, at my own pace. Some have been included in my summer reading list.

In fact, here’s my top five summer reads, from the summer just passed (in case anyone was short on recommendations):

1. Five Star Billionaire – Tash Aw
2. Americanah – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
3. Zeitoun – Dave Eggers
4. Maggie and Me – Damian Barr
5. The Marrying of Chani Kaufman – Eve Harris

As you can see, it was quite a varied summer – from Jewish North London to Nigeria, Asia to America to Scotland, fact, fiction and everything in between. The five books listed above couldn’t be more different, but all are highly recommended.

And here are the top five books I am currently excited to read this autumn (for these, the normal review service will resume!)

1. Lean In – Sheryl Sandeberg
2. A Tale for the Time Being – Ruth Ozeki
3. And the Mountains Echoed – Khaled Housseini
4. Expo 58 – Jonathan Coe
5. Ghana Must Go – Taiye Selasi

And as ever, suggestions remain welcome. Ok, back to my book!

About bloggingthelonglist

An avid reader, but I tend to stick to what I know I am comfortable with. Trying to break out of the comfort zone...

Leave a Reply

