RSS Feed

Why Maggie O’Farrell and I must be friends

Even though I struggle to spell her name with the requisite amount of Os and Rs, Maggie O’Farrell and I are going to be great friends.  I’ve decided.  There’s not much she can do about it.  So neh.

A little late in the day, I know…. but I only discovered her last week.  And she has knocked my socks off.  I have powered through three of her books and am onto my fourth.  And that’s how I know we are going to get along like a house on fire.  Because she is one of those authors you really a get a sense of through her books.  And the books themselves, well, they are everything you look for in a friend.  They are human and kind, but original and witty, and a little subversive and very, clever.  But also, simply, likeable.  They are the perfect balance – too user-friendly to be seemed ‘challenging’ but far too complex and erudite for me to claim they are ‘pink.’ And I, for one can’t get enough of them.

Ok, and I nearly mentioned this first, but she is also married to William Sutcliffe.  And before I had even heard of her (thanks to whomever, and I forget who, recommended her latest novel: ‘Instructions for a Heatwave’) he was one of my various author crushes.  I can still remember, somewhere in my late teens reading ‘Are you Experienced?’ in the course of one long car journey (maybe the Italian mountains, but I digress) and thinking “this man really gets me”.  And ok, we are never going to marry.  But now we can all be great friends; how wonderful!

instructions

are you

So, if you haven’t read any Maggie O’Farrell, you must.  But don’t steal her.  She was my friend first.

About bloggingthelonglist

An avid reader, but I tend to stick to what I know I am comfortable with. Trying to break out of the comfort zone...

Leave a Reply

