RSS Feed

Some more thoughts on men and books

I have been doing a bit more thinking about men, and the books they read.  And having thought about this, I would like to posit a couple of questions and add some thoughts.

1) Most of the men I know read a lot of non-fiction.  Specifically pop pol and techy books.  They tend to like to read about their interests. When I asked one colleague he informed me they also ‘looked better on the train, or the coffee table.’  I imagine most of these are written by men.  Am I right?

2) Equally a lot of men seem to read science fiction and crime books.  I haven’t tested the coffee table / train theory on these.  But again,  I think a lot of these are written by men too (though I know some great female crime authors).  Again, am I right?

If the two above suppositions are right, maybe the ‘do men read books by female authors’ debate is more about a combination of men’s interests as cultural norms and ideas of ‘manliness’ than men necessarily looking down on or disapproving of ‘female’ literature.

manly men

A quick peak at Esquire’s ‘Greatest Books Every Man Should Read’ seems to back up this idea.

http://http://www.esquire.com/the-side/feature/80-books#slide-1

So maybe in some ways #readwomen2014 have got it right and men should be more open to women’s literature.   However, in other ways a lot of the pieces on this subject may have the emphasis subtly wrong, and should be emphasizing the stereotyping of men as much, if not more, than that of women.

About bloggingthelonglist

An avid reader, but I tend to stick to what I know I am comfortable with. Trying to break out of the comfort zone...

Leave a Reply

